It is currently Mon Nov 12, 2018 11:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
At Chris's suggestion, I'm starting this thread to act as a central repository of information and solutions involving the Graupner Hopping Telemetry Transmission (HoTT) system. We will cover transmitters, receivers, ESCs, and sensor modules, plus anything else that might come down the pipeline. Most of the discussion will center around the MZ series of transmitters, but if you have a tip or trick for another series, please post it.

When using the Graupner system, it's important to understand that most of the smarts in the telemetry system resides in the remote device, not in the transmitter. Alarm thresholds, receiver channel/output mappings, receiver output frame rates (10 or 20ms), and RPM pole counts and gear ratios are among those items stored in the remote device. It's important in most cases after making a change to use the Save option on the same screen, which actually writes the settings to the flash memory on the device.

The method of accessing the remote device from the transmitter menus is not intuitively obvious unless you understand the RF protocol being used. The devices are grouped in a Telemetry menu, accessible inside the Function menu. The reason for the location of the settings has to do with the telemetry protocol being used. Unlike a lot of other settings in the transmitter, the remote device settings are presented on textual screens. I won't go into how to use the textual interface; it's covered reasonably well in the manual.

Four categories of controls and displays are accessible from the top level screen. I've determined that there is a logical layout. The Basic category covers model-level settings such as model name, receiver binding, channel direction, endpoints, subtrim, and failsafes. The Function category covers flight mode-level (called Q.Link in Graupner nomenclature) and remote device settings. The System category covers everything completely local to the radio, such as speaker volume, screen contrast and brightness, stick mode, and transmitter power-on warnings.

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
First tip: Unbinding a receiver.

One of the issues a lot of people have had is not knowing how to bind a different receiver if the model is already bound to one. This one tripped me up too. The trick is to first make the transmitter forget about the previously bound receiver. Go to Basic>Tx Ctl, change the Bind On/Off setting to Off, and power-cycle the radio. The transmitter should come up and say it hasn't been bound. You then use the usual process for binding.

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 1:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:18 pm
Posts: 487
Thanks for starting this thread! I think it will be helpful to a lot of folks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
Second tip: Check/change your failsafes.

By default, a receiver's failsafes are set up for channel hold, which means the channels hold their last position when the link to the transmitter is lost. If you're using the single line SUMD protocol, the packets contain a field to tell the receiving device whether a failsafe/hold condition exists. I suspect most FBL controllers would see this and use their own failsafes, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. If you have discrete channel connections, failsafes are especially important.

IMO, the failsafes should always be changed from HD (hold) to FS (failsafe) and the failsafe levels set to 0 (center) for all channels except throttle, which should be set to a value that will idle the motor.

Fortunately, Graupner provided a high level interface for changing failsafes and saving them to the receiver, rather than going into the device menus (you can do it either way). The failsafes are in Basic>F/S. From what I've been able to tell, every channel you want to change to FS must have a control assigned to it in order to set the value. The rest of the process is in the manual.

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: the Graupner telemetry system
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 3:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:08 am
Posts: 95
Location: Central Victorian Highlands/Victoria.Australia
USING MZ24 in REALFLIGHT

Choose'JR' Tx in RealFlight and set Tx channels 1-9 to 'pupil' and type to 'DSC-S' in the trainer menu, then increase the ppm to 18 in the 'Tx ctl' menu. (Quoted from another forum)



Sent using a Graupner MZ 24

_________________
Bert Candusio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
Electric Air Module

If you find that the pack voltage is reading a couple of volts too low and you don't have the balance inputs connected, run a wire from GND1 (low pack ground) on the EAM to the main input wire (any place where battery ground is available will work). There's apparently a floating ground issue if you don't do that and this jumper wire fixes that. A pack I was testing with last night went from reading 42.5V to reading 45V just by running this wire. My battery checker read much closer to the latter than to the former.

Bobby needs to get his butt in gear and start contributing tips he's discovered. I didn't really mean this to be a "Bum" thread (contribution by Agusta not withstanding).

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 11:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:08 am
Posts: 95
Location: Central Victorian Highlands/Victoria.Australia
Lock the Screen

Hold the ENT and ESC down together will 'Lock' your screen to prevent access.
Repeat again to 'Unlock' the screen.


Sent using a Graupner MZ 24
(Why not..It does everything else)

_________________
Bert Candusio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:08 am
Posts: 95
Location: Central Victorian Highlands/Victoria.Australia
TWO UPDATING TUTORIALS IN ENGLISH
These are for the MX Series of radios but might still be useful.

http://youtu.be/hFy-e6qnomw

http://youtu.be/7bsgWxFTx5E


Sent using a Graupner MZ 24
(Why not..It does everything else)

_________________
Bert Candusio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Setting up Graupner MZ radio with Skookum 720BE
PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2014 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 7:57 pm
Posts: 32
Well after many frustrating hours, I've got my Graupner MZ-18 connected with a GR-24L receiver with my 720BE. It wasn't easy or fast. If you are contemplating this, read what follows as I wrote it down for posterity, making it easier for others and myself if I ever have to do this again.

Heli is a DT700, Hobbywing 120A esc

For better formatting I've attached a PDF which will make this easier to read (a Word file format isn't allowed, so PM me if you want that) .

What follows is a tutorial about setting up Graupner MZ (18 or 24) (mine is an 18) with an already programmed 720BE.
Flight mode switch on SW5 (top of transmitter left)
Self-Level when SW7 (top of transmitter right) is in the middle position or up
DV1 changes the main cyclic gain on Bank 2 (for temporary tuning) Then lock Cyclic gain at Bank or (un-assign DV1 and the travel adjust will change gain)
DV2 controls the tail gain on both Tail 1 and Tail 2 (DV2 will actually switch the tail bank from 1 to 2, I don’t use two tail banks so I left it this way. I’m only tuning the tail on one bank (whichever has the blue bar over the Tail bank tab. Once tuned, I turn off the selection in Skookum software (which changes to just one bank and either use travel adjust to set gain or lock gain in the Tail tab.
FYI, to check this procedure I set the radio (TX) and receiver (RX) and then reset both and ran all the way through.

I hope it helps prevent frustration.

Scott


1. Charge Radio and RX pack
2. Bind Receiver
a. Power on TX, select “SET” to BIND is not set up window (RF needs to be on)
b. Hold button down (3 seconds and let go) on receiver while powering up
c. In the Base/Tx ctl (which will be open)– touch bind on/off (wait for bind), tap Back
d. Select System icon from main screen (lower left), tap Stick Cali and calibrate transmitter sticks, tap Back to main menu.
Note: if this is a new set up with a 720BE do not connect servos yet.
e. IF connecting with single wire (PPM connection) from receiver to 720be (RX must be powered up), tap Function/Telemetry/Setting & Data View, tap ENT until the RX Servo Test screen (3 taps), tap inc to move curser to CH OUT TYPE, tap Set to change type of output, tap inc/dec until SUMDHD12 displays, tap Set to accept that and go to next setting, tap inc/dec to FS, tap Set, (if needed, tap Set to change the default number – 12L will not give choice, 24L RX should be set to 12, tap Set), tap Back to main menu.
f. Connect receiver to 720be (no servos if it’s a new setup) – At this point the RX will obtain power from the 720be (so disconnect the RX power – and power the 720be. Receiver 12L plug from Port 6 to 720be IO-B. Receiver 24L plug from Port 8 to flb IO-B. If Power Bus is used the IO-B port on the power bus should be used.
g. Monitor outputs of 720be to manage channel assignment (note: I tried to set the channel assignments by number only, that didn’t work for me, what follows did work)
i. Connect 720BE with USB cable to computer and start Skookum Setup utility.
ii. Change Receiver Type in Skookum Setup utility to Graupner. With this change, you should see stick movement in the Skookum Setup utility.
iii. Move one channel/stick on the transmitter at a time and look to see what it moves (collective, rudder, elevator, and aileron) (this is only for gimbal stick positions).Here’s what I found: 1.Pitch – collective; 2.Roll1- aileron; 3.Pitch-axis1- elevator; 4.Tail rotor-rudder) In TX, open Base/Ch Set. Click red box next to the channel name, ignore popup window and move the transmitter stick that should control that function (This is a trial and error – if I did my math right there is only 10 possible combinations). Ignore the fact that the servo may be reversed.
iv. Do this for each of the four directions on the gimbal, press back button to get to base screen. (if a mistake is made or that choice was wrong, just repeat the above)
(note: I mentioned I set up an already programmed 720be, if this is not your scenario I suggest you visit the Skookum wizards to set the servos up now – I don’t know how that will interfere with the rest of this tutorial) to others, continue.
v. Tap next to 9.Aux2 on the red DV1, in the popup window tap Clr (this clears a throttle limit situation in radio)
vi. Tap Back to Base and tap Rev/Slow icon, Select the Norm/Rev for the first four channels until the outputs in the 720be software read the correct directions (My heli is a DT700 your set up may vary (1-stick up is green collective, 2-right is green aileron, 3-down is green elevator, 4-right is green rudder) back out to Base menu, tap Function (button for the Function screen)
vii. Tap Q.Link – tap 3.Idle-up1 to highlight and tap new, tap Null under control. Ignore popup and rock the flight mode switch, tap the middle red OFF (to ON) to assign that function to that part of the switch. tap back
viii. Tap 4.Idle-up2 and repeat above, except to tap the bottom red OFF (to ON) of the flight mode switch setting. Back out to main screen
h. Set Throttle curves next,
i. In Skookum software run Stick Scaling wizard
ii. In Radio, tap Function, tap THR.CRV (note: you should see on this screen, to the right of the Model Name, which flight mode the switch position is in. Rock flight mode switch to check each switch position. If reversed, revisit Q.Link switch assignment by following the above steps and choosing a different position for the assignment.)
iii. Flight mode switch in Normal position (down most position)
iv. Tap the Red ST OFF to turn it on, move the collective stick upward (watch the 720be software (stick output should show 0 -100% or close to it mine showed throttle as -1). At for 35 to 40% stick position, tap ENT. Raise collective stick to fully up position and tap ENT. Tap the red Y-axis icon and tap inc/dec icons to move throttle curve line to same 35-40% level (in Skookum) Radio should show flat lie between the second and third dots).
v. Flight mode switch to Idle-up1, collective stick down – tap ENT – tap Y-axis – tap inc/dec so point is at 60%. Increase collective stick fully up (to see vertical line of stick position in radio graph, tap ST OFF) and tap ENT. Tap Y-axis – tap inc/dec to move throttle curve (flat line) to 60% (in Skookum).
vi. Flight mode switch to Idle-up2 and repeat but this time set throttle curve to 100% flat line. Tap to Function menu.
vii. Tap THR.HOLD, with Flight Mode switch in Normal position, tap the red INH next to ACT to ON, tap the red ON next to CTL, ignore the popup and move your desired Hold switch. In the next window tap OFF to ON for the switch position the Hold should be active (for me that was the middle and bottom selections). Tap Back, with throttle hold in ON position (for me the switch in middle position), (ACT should show ON) tap the red -100% next to SET, and tap inc/dec until the 720be software displays the lowest setting possible from radio (mine was already at the lowest setting of -100%, tap Back.
i. Set switch for bank switching (I use Cyclic 1 for bailout (SL always on) and fly in Cyclic 2)
i. In 720be software click on the Control tab, next to Gear click on the drop down and choose Cyclic Bank/Gain. In the Aux2 select Tail Bank/Gain.
ii. On the radio, tap Base/CHSet-tap the red icon NONE next to 5. Aux1. Rock bank switch you want to use (I used SW7).
iii. Confirm in 720be software that SW7 down is Bank 2, if not, tap to Base screen and Rev/Slow and tap 5.Nor (or Rev) to change the switch direction)
j. Set DV2 for Tail gain
i. Tap 7.Gyro red icon NONE and rotate DV2 (will control the tail gain on that knob) if you don’t want to dynamically change (tune) in flight do not set this channel assignment. ( you can always clear this by redoing these steps and after clicking on the red icon, tap Clr)
k. Set DV1 for main cyclic gain
i. Base menu tap ChSet, tap the red icon next to 8.Governor and rotate DV1 knob. tap to Function menu
ii. Bank switch to Cyclic 2 position
iii. Tap Prog.Mix, with Flight Mode switch in Normal, tap Master (MST) NONE on line 1, in the pop up window, tap the leftmost NONE and select CH8, tap the rightmost NONE and tap CH5, tap back, tap ACT INH on line 1 to ON, tap Set.
iv. In the next window the channels should read CH8 >> CH5
v. Tap CTL ON and flip SW7 to assign and in the next window tap the topmost radio button from OFF to ON (that will be the switch position furthest away), tap Back, tap ACT INH to turn ON, tap the red icon next to A, tap inc to 100%. tap Back
vi. Change Flight Mode to Idle up 1 and repeat most of above, tap Master (MST) NONE on line 1, In the pop up window of the next screen tap the leftmost NONE and select CH8, tap the rightmost NONE and tap CH5, tap back, tap ACT INH on line 1 to ON, tap Set.
vii. In the next window the channels should read CH8 >> CH5
viii. Tap CTL ON and rock SW7 (bank switch), in the pop up window tap OFF in what will be the further away position on the switch (which is the top of the position in that window), tap Back, If ACT show OFF or INH, tap to turn on, tap the red icon next to A, tap inc to 100%. tap Back
ix. Change Flight Mode to Idle up 2 and repeat most of above, tap Master (MST) NONE on line 1, In the pop up window of the next screen tap the leftmost NONE and select CH8, tap the rightmost NONE and tap CH5, tap back, tap ACT INH on line 1 to ON, tap Set.
x. In the next window the channels should read CH8 >> CH5
xi. tap CTL ON and rock SW7 (bank switch), in the pop up window tap OFF in what will be the further away position on the switch (which is the top of the switch in that window), tap Back, if ACT is not ON tap to turn on, tap the red icon next to A, tap inc to 100%. tap Back
xii. To make my life easier (and I couldn’t figure out how to do this otherwise) Click 720be tab Cyclic 1 (bank 1) and check the box Lock Cyclic Gain to - I set 50%
xiii. Check (Cyclic 2 (bank 2) and make sure the Lock Cyclic Gain is not checked
Easy Peasy, right!

Don’t forget to check Live data in Skookum for correct Gyro behavior.

Edit:
On the Skookum software Control tab:
PPM, analog - set the receiver type to Futaba/Jeti PPM
SUMD, digital - set the receiver type to Graupner


Attachments:
Graupner on Skookum instruction.pdf [84.6 KiB]
Downloaded 139 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graupner HoTT Tips and Tricks
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
Setting up an airplane's ailerons with a gyro-enhanced receiver

The particular receiver I'm using is a GR-12+3xG. At first, I thought the gyro control loop would do the mix-out of control and stabilization signals to however many ailerons were specified in the receiver, taking a single aileron channel input. As it turns out, that's not the case. You must set the number of aileron channels to the same value in both the transmitter and receiver.

One aileron channel setup, i.e. dual aileron servos using a Y-adapter or a single aileron servo:
  1. Set up the model in the transmitter to "1AIL". This will output the aileron signal on channel 2.
  2. Set the number of ailerons to "1" in the receiver via the telemetry interface.

Two aileron channel setup:
  1. Set up the model in the transmitter to "2AIL". This will output aileron signals on channels 2 and 5.
  2. If you have to reverse an aileron channel, you must reverse both channels so that they're always going the same direction. This is per the manual and you have no choice but to turn one servo around or use a separate servo reverser. I believe this is because the receiver's gyro control loop makes no attempt to compensate for the channels going opposite directions.
  3. Set the number of ailerons to "2" in the receiver via the telemetry interface.
Note: With the GR-12+3xG, if you use port 5 for telemetry (either SENSOR or VOLTAGE mode), the mixed channel 5 aileron signal will be shifted to port 6 automatically.

Behind the scenes, I believe that the receiver feeds the gyro aileron correction signal to one or two mixes, each of which also takes one aileron channel as input. The output(s) of the mix(es) is(are) then fed to the servo(s).

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group