It is currently Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:38 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Spektrum with the help of Radio Shack and HobbyKing
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 8:43 am
Posts: 207
Got an email from a friend asking if I could make him a module to work with his Graupner MZ24 so it would fly Spektrum stuff. I said sure, as long as he didn't hold me responsible for fires/explosions and he sent me the parts. So what do we need?


Orange DIY Module
2s Lipo
Servo plugs and crimpers
JST battery lead
1/8th inch Mono plug (with 90deg would be best, but Radio Shack didn't have any)
some sort of box to mount it in.


Making it up is pretty simple. Crimp a servo lead on the 3 wires coming out of the Orange DIY. You can stop here if you are lucky enough to have an RX that can do PPM out. Just plug it in, turn on the PPM stream, and you are rockin.


If you want to plug it into a trainer port, then a little more work is required. Wire up a lead with a female servo connection (to mate with that one you just put on the module), a JST lead (to battery), then solder the negative and signal wires from the servo lead to the 1/8th jack. Ground goes to the larger tab, signal (usually a white or yellow wire) to the smaller, the back of the bag from Radio Shack has a diagram.


Plug it all in and set up your radio like you would to hook up to a sim, and you are now outputting on Spektrum. The module will beep and light up when it gets a valid PPM signal. You will most likely have to remap the channels in your radio to match Spektrum mapping, but that's it.


Now find some small box to mount it all in. I used a servo box. drill some holes and tape things down, be better than me and put a grommet in the side where the mono plug comes out. I thought I had one in my box o' joy, but I couldn't find it, so I skipped it. I put the battery on one side of the box and all the other electronics on the other side, that allows it to be easily disconnected and removed for charging, and also easily hooked up when you want to use the module.


The module will not turn on and transmit until it gets a valid PPM signal. So it works fine without a switch, plug the battery in, then turn on the radio and it will kick on and work. The button allows you to bind it, and change the mode between DSM2 and DSMx.


That's it. Took longer to type than to make once I gathered all the parts. If I had it to do again, I'd try to find one of the nice softer plastic Hitec servo boxes to mount it in, try to find a 90deg 1/8th plug online (most likely from Mouser or Digikey) and use a grommet on the exit. But as it is, it works great.

Attached are pics of all the parts and the steps. In no discernible order.


Attachments:
20140731_171923.jpg
20140731_171923.jpg [ 139.83 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]
20140731_171825.jpg
20140731_171825.jpg [ 181.51 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]
20140731_170620.jpg
20140731_170620.jpg [ 174.35 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]
20140731_170041.jpg
20140731_170041.jpg [ 133.58 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]
20140731_170017.jpg
20140731_170017.jpg [ 123.86 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]
20140731_165955.jpg
20140731_165955.jpg [ 144.6 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]
20140731_165914.jpg
20140731_165914.jpg [ 129.75 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]
20140731_165844.jpg
20140731_165844.jpg [ 152.08 KiB | Viewed 2860 times ]

_________________
Nick Crego
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spektrum with the help of Radio Shack and HobbyKing
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
It would be nice if that telemetry port on the MZ24 could be made to output PPM. I'll have to consider doing this.

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spektrum with the help of Radio Shack and HobbyKing
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 8:43 am
Posts: 207
I thought about mounting one of these internally on my MZ24 (before I sold it). It wouldn't be difficult, however, there are issues that would have to be dealt with. The biggest is the radio runs on a 1s lipo, and the module needs 6v. It's not too big of a deal to build a voltage step up, or just buy one (Novak makes a nice one that can handle 1a and bumps a 1s lipo to 6v). I never got around to it though, my hands/flying style just isn't compatible with the MZ24 case.

The nice thing about this is that it'll plug into anything and work.

_________________
Nick Crego


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spektrum with the help of Radio Shack and HobbyKing
PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2014 10:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
Would 250mA be enough current to drive the module? That's about what Dimension Engineering's AnyVolt Micro will output with a single cell lipo input and a 6V output.

EDIT: Never mind. I found this, with higher current output (>500mA at 6V) and a smaller footprint at 1/3 of the price:

http://www.pololu.com/product/2118

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spektrum with the help of Radio Shack and HobbyKing
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
Another question: Does the module only radiate RF when there's a PPM stream present, or does it radiate at all times while power is applied?

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spektrum with the help of Radio Shack and HobbyKing
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2014 9:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 6:45 pm
Posts: 1550
Location: McKinney, TX
TheBum wrote:
Another question: Does the module only radiate RF when there's a PPM stream present, or does it radiate at all times while power is applied?

To answer my own question: yes, with a caveat. Once the module detects a PPM stream and starts transmitting, the only way to stop it from transmitting is to remove module power. Simply removing the PPM stream doesn't do it.

_________________
Alan
Team Shannon (Only Fine Helis)
DT520E V2, Protos Max V2, Nighthawk 250 Pro FPV quadcopter
ParkZone P-51 BL, Hobby King Skipper


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group